Independents win 21 of 35 seats in Gurugram municipal elections

Mon, Sep 25 2017, 10:52 AM

Independent candidates won 21 of the 35 wards in the elections to the Municipal Corporation of Gurugram on Sunday. The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP), which contested every ward, came second with 13 seats, while the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won one seat. Several independent candidates are reportedly backed by political parties.